ASTD Lincoln announced their 2009 award winners during a ceremony held at the Hillcrest Country Club on Dec 10th. The award winners: Leadership in Action Award: Marguerite Himmelberg; Sponsorship: Southeast Community College Continuing Education Center; Teamwork: Technology Specialist Interest Group and Professional Development Team; Volunteerism: Sarah Kahler; Rookie of the Year Award: Jessica Florez; Program of the Year Award: “How the Brain Learns” with workshop “The Brain and Learning” presented by Dennison S. Bhola; Community Impact Award: Gina Larson; Workplace Learning and Performance Champion Award: Southeast Community College Continuing Education Center; Presidents Award: Ron Snyder.

The 2010 ASTD–Lincoln Board of Directors were also announced.  The board members are: Gina Larson, president; Shannon Poppe, president-elect; Sandy Smith, past president; Kevin Mattran, vice president professional development; Keith Stoneman, vice president education and research; Janelle Francis, Director of Certifications and Competencies; Marguerite Himmelberg, director of programming; Elizabeth Howe, vice president of membership; Jane Stentz, director of involvement; Don Wenzl, director of recruiting; Lora Yardley, director of member connections; Jessica Florez, vice president of communications; David Jacobs, director of public relations; Doug Burks, vice president of finance.

ASTD-Lincoln is a professional association for people of diverse backgrounds, creating a world that works better through exceptional learning and performance.  Monthly educational programs are held on the third Thursday of each month from 11:30 to 1:00.

For more information on ASTD–Lincoln, call 434-7557 or visit