The United Way of Lincoln and Lancaster County Board of Directors elected Brad Hedrick of Windstream Communications as President of the Board. Hedrick succeeds Bill Schmeeckle, Assurity Life Insurance Company, who served as 2010 President.

Other officers elected are Vice President, Charlie Meyer, NEBCO, Inc. and Lincoln Saltdogs; Vice President, Jennifer Brinkman, Richters Brinkman, LLC; Immediate Past President, Bill Schmeeckle, Assurity Life Insurance Company; Treasurer, Bryan Shank, Union Bank & Trust Company; Assistant Treasurer, Wade Walkenhorst, Cornhusker Bank; and Secretary, Captain Genelle Moore, Lincoln Police Department.

Newly elected members are Jim Cada, Cada Law; Jan Garvin, BryanLGH Health Systems; Dr. Steve Joel, Lincoln Public Schools; Cathy Lang, Nebraska Department of Labor; Wayne Svoboda, Volunteer Partners; and Ken VanCleave, Ameritas Life Insurance Corp.

Returning board members are Frank H. Eman, Lincoln Central Labor Union and Machinist Local 612; Peter Ferguson, Lincoln Public Schools; Tom Fischer, Duncan Aviation; Judi M. Gaiashkibos, Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs; Barry Gates, US Bank; Mary Jo Hill, Computer Services Inc.; H. Cameron Hinds, Wells Fargo; Lori McClurg, Raikes School of Computer Science & Management University of Nebraska –Lincoln; Dan Mechtenberg, Black Hills Energy; J. Scott Nelson, UNICO Group, Inc.; Sheila Odom, Russwood Auto Center; Dr. Fred Ohles, Nebraska Wesleyan University; Mike Pollard, Allied Insurance; Dan Pudenz, Lincoln Electric System; Lynn Roper, Merrill Lynch & Company, Inc.; Dennis Steen, State Farm Insurance; Mark Taylor, Three Eagles Communications; and Betsy Williams, Pfizer Inc.

The board manages the corporation’s affairs, including setting general policy and procedures of the organization.

For more information about The United Way of Lincoln and Lancaster County, please visit